I Can..

 

A girl- friend of mine was visiting me during the Christmas break and in one of our chats she asked my why was I so negative about myself when I was so positive about everyone else?

I was kind of taken aback and asked her why she felt so!? My normal style when someone give me feedback is to acknowledge(Ok!) the feedback  then ask for an example to gauge in my head if it is valid or just something the person may have misinterpreted. So I asked her for an example and she gave very valid well observed small but significant  examples from the last 2 days we had spent together.

She said, when we went for the hike, you kept saying I can’t do 10 miles all the way while walking  but you eventually did it pretty well, in Yoga class you said you cannot do the head down pose even with the straps but you could…and now we are talking about work and you say you cannot do it..

It hit me and I realized that maybe she had a point….I seem to be doing a lot of negative self talk which is not helping my cause…I need to move from the I can’t paradigm to the ‘I CAN’ paradigm…

One of the things she told me was that to  build self esteem you should look at running and it need not be fast it can be as slow as you walk but just go out there and run and it will build up slowly…

Now I have never been much of a runner…when I was 16,  I went for a jog once on the beach in the morning and I felt dizzy and unwell so I decided ‘morning exercise’ and ‘jogging’ does not ‘suit’ my constitution and I truly believed it.

When I brother, his wife and other people I know would train for marathon’s I would always feel…this is something ‘I can’t do’

But today was THE BEGINING of my  ‘I CAN’ paradigm for running..

I jogged for 25 minutes….the pace was super slow, I would have covered about 1.8 miles so that means my speed was about 4.32 mph.

I checked Google on running speed and it said:

” a general guideline on treadmill speeds: for most people 2 to 4 mph will be a walking speed; 4 to 5 mph will be a very fast walk or jog; and anything over 5 mph will be jogging or running.”

🙂 So I was somewhere between fast walk and jog for 25 minutes… my quads hurt a little bit and I am super proud!

While writing this post I was thinking of what I want to do next with this and was checking for the Seattle Marathon and found the perfect match for what I want to aim for….the 10K run which is scheduled for August 26th…

http://www.seattlemarathon.org/2017-seattle-marathon-10k-race/

Plan to register for the 10K run this week, I will keep  blogging about my updates on this journey of I CAN!

 

 

About Shilpszzz

I am me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

