Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance

I am almost at the end of an audio book which I have been listening to for the past couple of weeks called Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance (Angela Duckworth).

I think this is the first audio book I may have heard till the end and I think Audio books are a brilliant concept. Amazon bought over Audible and that is one way to pay to pick up audio books but for people in the United States, head to your public libraries, they are simply brilliant and have quite a decent collection of audiobooks that you can download.

Grit was recommended by one of my Yoga class teachers and hence I picked it up. Overall while the concepts are very intuitive and not rocket science it is nice to hear a book on it because it reinforces things that would be in your subconscious.

The crux of the book is that hard work, perseverance (Grit) and not sheer talent is essential to excel. Grit is something that can be nurtured in yourself and the people you mentor/parent.

The book is divided into 3 part

Part 1: What is Grit and why it matter

Part 2: Growing Grit from Inside Out

Part 3: Growing Grit from Outside In

Part 1.What is Grit and Why it Matters?

Honestly this was not really new information but the anecdotes were very interesting and it was over all well written and engaging. It had elements of 10,000 hours of practice from Malcom Gladwel book and other concepts which you know intuitively.

We  all subconsciously believe successful people are “naturals” which puts us the hook and we can sit back and say I was just not born with it but the author emphasizes that “Effort” is what matter and everyone can be extremely successful if we persevere.

My one line summary takeaway from this section was ” Effort Counts Twice”

Talent x Effort = Skill

Skill x Effort = Achievement

Part 2: Growing Grit from Inside Out

This was the key section of the book for me. My take the 4 P’s of Grit “Passion, Practice, Purpose, Positivity“(The author wrote it as Interest Practice, Purpose and Hope)

I am still struggling to find the first P…my real passion and this book does not really clear the cobwebs on that but my take was that you still need to build your grit though this journey of life so when you do find you passion you are all set.

Once of the concepts discussed in the book on practice which I really liked was “Deliberate Practice” . It was observed  in research that people who did Deliberate practice were better poised for success as compared to people who did mindless practice. Mindless Practice is better than no practice but deliberate practice is the best. Again no rocket science  and very intuitive but still nice to read to reinforce

So what are the pillars for ” Deliberate practice”

  1. Have Stretch Goal
  2. Practice with full concentration and effort
  3. Immediate feedback
  4. Repetition with reflection and refinement

I am planning to use this for running, will let you know how it goes.

I also liked her take on purpose. A lot of us do not feel very passionately about our job’s and the reason for that is that we are unable to assign a higher purpose to what we do.

The author says, you can move from job to career to calling without changing anything.

A brick layer who says his work is to lay bricks is doing a job, one who says he is making a building looks at it as a career and someone who says he is making a house of God has found his calling!

Interesting but how do people like us implement this in our lives and jobs?

The Author suggests

  1. Reflect how the work you are already doing can make a positive impact on society
  2. How is small but meaningful ways can you chance your current work to enhance its connection to your core values
  3. Finding inspiration in a purposeful role model: Who would you like to be like in 15 years?

I can think of how to apply the first two points but have not yet found the deeper meaning of the third point.

I work in business development for an IT services company. Our official spiel is we sell digital solutions and consult customer but bottom line is we sell talent and get great technical folks to work with customers.

Like everyone else there are days I don’t like my an I wonder what the hell is the purpose of all this…to make money for some shareholders?

But when I look at my job as getting people jobs in fields they love and help to feed their families and grow I suddenly love my job because I am making a difference in the lives of all my associates and families. My core value is that people come first and I have done my best to be the champion for my associates within the organization.

The authors take on hope/positivity was that if you feel you can succeed you will be more gritty. Again common sense but nice to read. My take away was that I need to improve my self talk and more positive.

Part 3: Growing Grit from outside In

This part was about how you can get your children, your tea to be more gritty and build a culture of grit. While this was interesting to read, I am currently working on myself so the earlier section was more relevant.

 

So here is my brief synopsis on the book, I hope you enjoyed reading it! Look forward to you comments!

Cheers!

S

 

 

About Shilpszzz

I am me!
This entry was posted in Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance

  1. Abhijit says:

    Nicely written

  2. abc says:

    In Part 2 : you have mention you are struggling to find the real passion.

    This is actually classic case of many Sage who are well studied, acquire knowledge, have sense of true wisdom. Its very difficult for them to find it.( book says)

    Those who are already reach this stage, they should help others to reach this stage.

Leave a Reply

